Connect with us


Ilorin Looting: AbdulRazaq Setup Committee On SME Recovery Funds



Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has appointed an 11-person committee to verify claims submitted by victims of the recent looting of private properties in Ilorin, determine the extent of their losses and disburse government’s support for them.
According to the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Rafiu Ajakaye The committee is to be chaired by Deputy Governor Kayode Alabi, with other members drawn mainly from the academia, civil society, and representatives of the shop owners and the Kwara State Chambers of Commerce.
The members are: Mary Stephen Bako (chambers of commerce); Fatti Binta Dikko (ENETSUD); top businessman Gbenle Adeyemi; Dr Hellen Olaifa of the University of Ilorin; retired teacher Mrs Deborah Kashi Job; representative of the Department of State Security; Bola Olojoku (Mekunu Forum Agenda); community leader Habeeb Lawal Ajibola; Ahmed Lawal (representative of the shop owners); and Anchor Person of the Kwara State Social Investment Programme Mohammed Brimah (Secretary).
Read Also: APC Members Are Ashamed To Exit Party – Wike Says As Stalwarts Defect To PDP

The committee would work with insurance adjusters already engaged to conduct professional evaluation of the losses in line with global best practices.
At least 342 persons have filed various claims to the government to benefit from the N500m SME recovery funds that the Governor recently announced to support businesses affected in the looting spree. 

BlazeNewz Disclaimer

The information contained in this post is for general information purposes only. Opinion articles, comments are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of BlazeNewz while we endeavour to keep the information accurate with objectivity as we adhere to global practice of journalism. Read our full Disclaimer.

Hammed Tajudeen is the editor in-chief of Blaze News, holds Higher National Diploma(HND) in Mass Communication, graduated from Osun State Polytechnic, Iree.