Connect with us


Daily Post Correspondent Emerges Osun NUJ Correspondents’ Chapel Chairman



The Osun State Nigeria Union of Journalist Correspondents’ Chapel on Monday elected Daily Post Online Newspaper, Mr Olaniyi Ajibola as its Chairman.

Ajibola, polled a total of 18 votes to defeat the former Chairman, Hameed Oyegbade of Daily Trust Newspaper, with 10 votes.

The newly elected Chairman, in his acceptance speech described his victory as a call to service, saying he was ready to justify the confidence reposed in him by members, and uphold high professional standard.

Shopping Live

According to him, journalism remains an illumination and conscience of the society , which saddled media practitioners with obligation of setting agenda for socioeconomic development and political advancement.

” Without mincing words, this is a dawn of a new era in our chapel, it is indeed an era of high professional standard, an era of accountability and transparency as a way of living up to our statutory obligation as the conscience of the society and determinant of public discourse through agenda setting.

“We shall continue to do more in our quest to objectively and accurately report our society in such a way that engender all round development and positive political culture”, he resorted.

Boutiquefeel WW

Ajibola, was a graduate of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, a former Parliamentarian at the Students’ Representative Council .

He was later elected as the Chairman of Electoral Commission /Acting President of the Students’ Union of the citadel.


He started his media career with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) before joining one of the leading Online platforms in Nigeria (Daily Post) as its State Correspondent in Osun State.

He was the immediate past Secretary of the chapel, and former member of the Osun NUJ Peace and Reconciliation Committee.

Meanwhile, Mr Lateef Dada of Blueprint Newspaper emerged as the Secretary of the chapel with total of 19 votes to defeat Mr Yinka Salam of Voice of Nigeria who scored 9 votes.

Simple-dress WW

Other members of the Executive who emerged unopposed are: Ayobami Rafiu Agboola of Odua News, for the position of Assistant Secretary, Mr Jide Idowu of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) for the position of Treasurer, and Mrs Yetunde Oladejo of Western Post Newspaper as Assistant Secretary.

Speaking, the Osun State Chairman of NUJ, Comrade Kehinde Ayantunji, commended members of the Correspondents’ Chapel for conducting themselves in a peaceful manner during the process.

Ayantunji promised that the state council will continue to support the chapel, saying “it is time all of us must come together as a formidable organization to redefine our operation and style.

The Zonal Secretary, Comrade Bamigbola Gbolagunte, called on members to unite and continue to be a good example to politicians.


“You have shown to the partisan politician that NUJ can serve as good example. Let us unite together. Do not be the Chairman of a section of the Correspondents’ Chapel. Try to carry all members along and give them the opportunity to contribute to the progress and development of the chapel.

BlazeNewz Disclaimer

The information contained in this post is for general information purposes only. Opinion articles, comments are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of BlazeNewz while we endeavour to keep the information accurate with objectivity as we adhere to global practice of journalism. Read our full Disclaimer.

Hammed Tajudeen is the editor in-chief of Blaze News, holds Higher National Diploma(HND) in Mass Communication, graduated from Osun State Polytechnic, Iree.


Ivrose WW


AliExpress WW






Microsoft LATAM
Floryday WW


Tomtop WW


Floryday WW


%d bloggers like this: